Home / Breaking News / Wayne wins Les & Mel Evans MBE Memorial Classic

Wayne wins Les & Mel Evans MBE Memorial Classic

Wayne Rogers of Burway today won the Les & Mel Evans MBE Memorial Classic after beating Callum Wraight of Castlefields in the final 21-12. Wayne had taken some fine scalps today, starting off with three time Champion Greg Smith from Hanwood in the 1st round, coming through 20. He then defeated Mark Picknell 17, Damian Morrison 20 and Castlefields player Mike Beer 20 in the Semi Finals. Callum had been in imperious form after getting past Johnny Sneddon 4, Highley’s Ben Dixon and Darrell Handley 16 and 4 respectively, and then Darren Plenderleith 13. Mike Beer had got past Nathan Dawes 18, Newport’s Pete Farmer 14, who had beaten Stuart Rutter of Wrockwardine Wood 14 first round, and Dan Jones 5. Gordon Hawkins of Sir John Bayley beat Ant Bracken 14 and Gary Owen 17, while his team mates Chris Ward and Scott Simpson won their first games 9 against Tom Pritchard and Dave May 15 respectively. Darrell had a great start beating Tommy Johnstone 10 and Scott Simpson 2, and his team mate Ben defeated one of the favourites Chris Brown 19. Mark Picknell of Wrockwardine Wood had beaten Hanwood’s Colin Beaman 18 first round too.

Full results are here.

The league and Salop Leisure would like to congratulate Wayne on his success.

Check Also

Dennis Lewis Open 2019 Preview

The Dennis Lewis Open takes place today with many star names in the field. Greg …