Home / Breaking News / On This Day: 2017 Alan Mayhew Trophy Final

On This Day: 2017 Alan Mayhew Trophy Final

Hanwood have won their first ever Salop Leisure Shropshire Premier Bowling League trophy after beating Meole Brace by 55 to claim the Barlows Fire and Security Alan Mayhew Trophy. It was a close start though with it being level after the first four. This was mainly because Meole had fought back with Will Tarrell winning 12 from 11 4 down in the corners  and Colin Beaman winning 17 from 12 4 behind in one of the best games of the night. But with Ash Wellings winning 11 and Nick Davies 18 it meant it was looking like a close game.

Into the middle and Hanwood took control. Greg Smith won 11 in the corners before Jon Mansell had resisted a fight back from Scott Moseley to run out from 15 across. Dave Payne then fought back excellently over the middle from 15 8 down to win 17, and with Dave Burton winning 9 on the longer marks it was a 31 shot lead for Hanwood.

Hanwood were comfortable in the back despite Mark Thomas leading 15 5 and when Glyn Wellings beat his brother 11 it was game over. Mark Shore put the icing on the cake with a faultless performance winning 2 on a falling mark to win the man of the match award. Mark Thomas came off winning 14 before Danny Wornell just got past Dave Redge 19 to give Hanwood a 55 shot win.

The league would like to say well done to Hanwood on winning their first ever league trophy and commiserations to Meole Brace on not being able to defend it.

Thank you to Old Shrewsbury for hosting the game so well and for doing a great buffet. Also thanks to Mike Potter for refereeing the game in his usual high standards.


Hanwood Scores Meole Brace
1 Wayne Phillips 17 21 Colin Beaman
2 Tony Hotchkiss 12 21 Will Tarrell
3 Ash Wellings 21 11 Julian Cooke
4 Nick Davies 21 18 Craig Wilson
5 Greg Smith 21 11 Andy Wigginton
6 Jon Mansell 21 15 Scott Moseley
7 Dave Payne 21 18 Nigel Bound
8 Dave Burton 21 9 Peter Bound
9 Glyn Wellings 21 11 Darren Wellings
10 Phil Lyttle 14 21 Mark Thomas
11 Dan Wornell 21 19 Dave Redge
12 Mark Shore 21 2 Doug Edwards
Total 232 177  


Joint captain Ash Wellings received the trophy off trophy donor Alan Mayhew, with fellow captains Dave Burton (left) and Mark Shore (right) and League President John Coxill (far right).

The three captains celebrate their success.

The team celebrate their maiden success.

Mark Shore receives the Man of the Match Champagne off League President John Coxill.

The winners Hanwood before the match. Back, from right: Mark Shore, Danny Wornell, Nick Davies, Dave Burton, Tony Hotchkiss, Wayne Phillips & Jon Mansell.

Front, from right: Dave Payne, Ash Wellings, Phil Lyttle, Glyn Wellings & Greg Smith.

Gallant runners-up Meole Brace. Back from left: Andy Wigginton, Nigel Bound, Peter Bound, Julian Cooke, John Nash & Dave Redge.

Front from left: Will Tarrell, Doug Edwards, Craig Wilson, Colin Beaman & Scott Moseley.

Check Also

On This Day: 15th September 2017

On this day three years ago Castlefields won a ninth league championship by getting 6 …