Home / Breaking News / On This Day: 10th October 2003

On This Day: 10th October 2003

The SPBL presentation evening was held at Newport Bowling Club last Friday (10th October) following the conclusion of the finals of Pool A & B Premiership Trophy.

The Chairman, John Nash, welcomed current County President Bob Moss and former County Presidents Dave Card, Neville Edwards and Mike Hinton, and players and supporters to Newport Bowling Club. He thanked Furrows Limited for their generous sponsorship, Malcolm Fletcher for his excellent coverage of not only Premier League Bowls, but Shropshire Bowls all over the county and Newport Bowling Club and its members for the use of its facilities.

John then made a presentation to Phil Emery on behalf of the Shropshire Star following their success last Friday when they won promotion to the Premier League.

The first players award to be presented was the individual Premier League Merit winner. In July Dale Downes (Wrockwardine Wood) beat Paul Williams (Castlefields) in the final at Hadley USC sponsored by PRC.  Joy Hinton presented him with an  engraved tankard  and The John Coxill Trophy. (Pictured below)


The next award went to Derek Wright who won 22 league games this season and picked up the League Averages Trophy from the Donor himself Neville Edwards. Three players had won 22 games but Derek had the best aggregate of  + 193.


 The last individual award was Spencer Clarke (Sir John Bayley),  who won 13 consecutive games in the season.


The first team award to be decided this season was the Alan Mayhew trophy and Mark Worthington, the Donnington Wood representative,  stepped forward to receive the trophy from Joy.


The awards were then made to tonight’s Pool A & B winners with Andrew Duckett (pictured below left) representing Chester Road and Terry Williams (pictured below right) from Ifton collecting the respective shields from League Presidents Wife, Joy Hinton.

ChesterRdPoolA       IftonPoolB

The next presentations involved the representatives of the member clubs collecting their prize money for the season from the Premier Leagues Presidents Wife, Joy.

Next up was Mick Jones representing St Georges, who finished 3rd.  (Pictured Below)


Next up were Castlefields who finished as runners up and Graham Rogers collected the cheque  for £600.


And finally, (from left) Andrew Moss, Martin Lloyd, Paul Latham and Rod Manley representing  Champions elect Chester Road,  received the League Trophy from Joy.


Check Also

Merry Christmas from the SPBL

The Salop Leisure Shropshire Premier Bowling League would like to wish all it’s players, sponsors …