Home / 25th Anniversary / 25 Years of the SPBL: 1st ever League Merit

25 Years of the SPBL: 1st ever League Merit

We look back at the 1st ever Shropshire Premier Bowling League Merit that took place in the 1st season back in 1994. It was played at Tilstock, the bowling club where Chairman Neville Edwards played at, and 97 players took part at eight Premier League qualifying greens, including tomorrow’s venue Donnington Wood. The final 16 contains just four players that still continue to play in the league, Mark Selley, Ian Gaut, Dale Downes and winner Peter Farmer. Pete beat Ian Lealand 7 in the final to win the £200 first prize, after he had defeated Mark Selley, Ian Rodger and Carl Teece 12.

The full results are below:

1st round:

Len Brookfield (AWC) 11-21 Kevin Perks (Battlefield)

Ian Lealand (St Georges)21-17 Mike Reeves (Wem USC)

Alan Ball (Chester Road) 21-20 George E. Roberts (Chester Road)

Rich Bevan (Meole Brace) 15-21 Mick Price (Hadley USC)

Ian Rodger (Chester Road) 21-14 Tony Cowdale (Craven Arms)

Carl Teece (St Georges) 12-21 Peter Farmer (Hadley USC)

Mark Selley (Wrockwardine Wood) 21-10 Ian Gaut (Donnington Wood)

Nicky Beard (Craven Arms) 17-21 Dale Downes (Wrockwardine Wood)

2nd round:

Kevin Perks 15-21 Ian Lealand

Alan Ball 18-21 Mick Price

Ian Rodger 12-21 Peter Farmer

Mark Selley 21-13 Dale Downes

Semi Finals:

Ian Lealand 21-15 Mick Price

Peter Farmer 21-12 Mark Selley


Ian Lealand 7-21 Pete Farmer

Check Also

AGM Tonight and setting of Fixtures

The 2019 AGM takes place tonight at Meole Brace bowling club at 7.30 p.m. After …