Home / Reports / 2018 Reports / Team Review 2018: Ifton

Team Review 2018: Ifton

Team: Ifton

2018 Captain: Dickie Jones

2018 Aim: To move forward after a disappointing last season

2018 Position: 12th

2018 Points: 163

2o17 Position: 13th

2017 Points: 162

2018 Home Wins: 9

2018 Away Wins: 1

Best Result: 12-2 (+54) vs. Burway

Worst Result: 1-13 (-111) vs. Burway

Alan Mayhew Trophy: 1st round (lost to Hanwood by 10)

Pool B: Runners-up (lost to Bowring by 13)

Leading Player: Craig Griffiths 17 wins (+54)

Comments: 

Ifton had a very similar season to the one before, scoring just one more point and moving up one place. They weren’t in danger of relegation though like the season before as they kept out of trouble, only losing the last five games, three of them at home, to move them down the table. It started off poorly though after getting one at Burway, followed by 2 at Hanwood and then a home loss against Meole Brace, with a home win over Chester Road their only success in their first five games. It was a four game spell that moved them away from any trouble, scoring double figures in each of them, including a 11-5 win at Chester Road. Their last victory was over Newport with just 5 winners as they were in contention for a top half finish, before not winning again. They lost 1st round in the Barlows Fire & Security Alan Mayhew Trophy, however they reached the final of the Pool B again, but lost out to Bowring by 13.

2018 Stats:

Results:

Date H/A Opponent For Against Won Lost Pts
Fri 6th Apr A Burway 137 248 1 11 1
Fri 13th Apr H Chester Road 207 201 8 4 10
Fri 20th Apr A Hanwood 158 229 2 10 2
Fri 27th Apr H Meole Brace 210 213 6 6 6
Fri 4th May A Bylet 215 225 6 6 6
Fri 11th May H Sir J Bayley 210 185 6 6 8
Fri 18th May A Newport 175 237 3 9 3
Fri 25th May A Wem U S C 191 230 4 8 4
Fri 1st Jun H Hanmer 239 176 8 4 10
Fri 8th Jun A Castlefields 197 202 6 6 6
Fri 15th Jun H Wrockwardine Wood 221 191 10 2 12
Fri 22nd Jun A St Georges 196 221 6 6 6
Wed 27th Jun A Bowring 177 237 2 10 2
Fri 29th Jun H Bowring 222 185 8 4 10
Fri 6th Jul H Burway 246 192 10 2 12
Fri 13th Jul A Chester Road 223 211 7 5 11
Wed 25th Jul H Hanwood 213 177 8 4 10
Fri 27th Jul A Meole Brace 202 226 5 7 5
Fri 3rd Aug H Bylet 234 202 8 4 10
Fri 10th Aug A Sir J Bayley 167 245 2 10 2
Fri 17th Aug H Newport 223 214 5 7 7
Fri 24th Aug H Wem U S C 195 210 6 6 6
Fri 31st Aug A Hanmer 200 238 4 8 4
Fri 7th Sep H Castlefields 200 233 4 8 4
Fri 14th Sep A Wrockwardine Wood 193 244 3 9 3
Fri 21st Sep H St Georges 207 239 3 9 3
Played 26 5258 5611 141 171 163

Team Averages:

Position Team
Player
Games Aggregate
Team Division Play Won Lost % Won For Against Agg Cons
Wins
1 19 Craig Griffiths 25 17 8 68 463 409 +54 6
2 41 Leighton Roberts 20 15 5 75 388 322 +66 6
3 91 Martin Jones 18 11 7 61 306 303 +3 4
4 103 Nicky Jones 23 10 13 43 394 405 -11 3
5 110 Geraint Williams 20 10 10 50 329 359 -30 3
6 123 Darren Lacey 22 9 13 41 392 400 -8 5
7 125 Dave Bond 24 9 15 38 417 442 -25 2
8 128 Dave Dicky Jones 22 9 13 41 353 404 -51 3
9 138 Ian Metcalfe 22 8 14 36 351 418 -67 2
10 144 Joey Williams 16 7 9 44 278 285 -7 2
11 159 Oliver Jones 13 6 7 46 211 231 -20 2
12 170 Sam Williams 15 5 10 33 243 274 -31 2
13 173 Brian Hayes 14 5 9 36 212 273 -61 1
14 174 Nathan Lacey 19 5 14 26 304 366 -62 3
15 188 Kevin Nicholas 4 3 1 75 74 54 +20 1
16 190 Ryan Bond 5 3 2 60 88 82 +6 2
17 194 Andrew Hughes 5 3 2 60 85 94 -9 2
18 195 Keiron Roberts 6 3 3 50 93 109 -16 1
19 221 Jamie Waugh 1 1 0 100 21 18 +3 1
20 227 Keiron Cooper 4 1 3 25 62 75 -13 1
21 236 Andrew Armstrong 5 1 4 20 53 99 -46 1
22 242 Richie Griffiths 2 0 2 0 39 42 -3 0
23 244 Adrian Humphries 1 0 1 0 18 21 -3 0
24 253 Paul Martin 1 0 1 0 15 21 -6 0
25 254 Ian Jones 2 0 2 0 35 42 -7 0
26 265 Jeff Cooper 2 0 2 0 28 42 -14 0
27 269 Aaron Roberts 1 0 1 0 6 21 -15 0

Check Also

25 Years: Fact Number 8

Number 8 Bylet earned their highest ever finish this season in their 17 year stay …