Home / Reports / 2018 Reports / Team Review 2018: Burway

Team Review 2018: Burway

Team: Burway

2018 Captain: Russ Davies, Duncan Pressley & Ben Allen

2018 Aim: Top 6 would be great! But all players to win at least one more game than last year – would be worth an extra 14 points!

2018 Position: 10th

2018 Points: 168

2o17 Position: 9th

2017 Points: 175

2018 Home Wins: 10

2018 Away Wins: 0

Best Result: 13-1 (+111) vs. Ifton

Worst Result: 2-12 (-71) vs. Meole Brace

Alan Mayhew Trophy: Semi Finals (lost to Castlefields by 14)

Pool B: Semi Finals (lost to Burway by 15)

Leading Player: Wayne Rogers 21 wins (+146)

Comments: 

Burway had their worse season points wise as they finished with just 168, seven down on last season as they matched their 10th placed finish in their first ever season. It started off so well as they went top of the table with a 13-1 hammering of Ifton, and followed it up with a good 5 at Hanmer. They then struggled to earn big wins at home, while only scoring 3s away, and then lost at home to Sir John Bayley. They got a great 11-3 home win over Newport at the halfway point to reinvigorate their season, following it up with a 13-1 home win over Hanmer and 6 at Wrockwardine Wood. Despite a home draw with Wem and a loss versus Castlefields, they got a good couple of home wins to finish off the season. However an away win deserted them, which hindered them trying to break into the top half, despite scoring 4 or 5 in their final few away games. They lost in the Semi Finals of both cup competitions, putting up a great fight against Castlefields in the Alan Mayhew and losing out to Ifton in the Pool B.

2018 Stats:

Results:

Date H/A Opponent For Against Won Lost Pts
Fri 6th Apr H Ifton 248 137 11 1 13
Fri 13th Apr A Hanmer 179 221 5 7 5
Fri 20th Apr H Wrockwardine Wood 228 206 7 5 9
Fri 27th Apr A Wem U S C 165 233 3 9 3
Fri 4th May H Bowring 234 187 7 5 9
Fri 11th May A Castlefields 159 228 3 9 3
Fri 18th May H St Georges 200 163 6 6 8
Fri 25th May H Chester Road 215 191 7 5 9
Fri 1st Jun A Hanwood 176 238 3 9 3
Fri 8th Jun H Sir J Bayley 191 206 4 8 4
Fri 15th Jun A Meole Brace 170 241 2 10 2
Fri 22nd Jun H Bylet 222 186 7 5 9
Wed 27th Jun H Newport 231 185 9 3 11
Fri 29th Jun A Newport 209 229 5 7 5
Fri 6th Jul A Ifton 192 246 2 10 2
Fri 13th Jul H Hanmer 240 158 11 1 13
Fri 20th Jul A Wrockwardine Wood 203 216 6 6 6
Fri 27th Jul H Wem U S C 200 200 5 7 6
Fri 3rd Aug A Bowring 192 238 4 8 4
Fri 10th Aug H Castlefields 200 209 6 6 6
Fri 17th Aug A St Georges 184 236 4 8 4
Fri 24th Aug A Chester Road 179 222 4 8 4
Fri 31st Aug H Hanwood 212 196 9 3 11
Fri 7th Sep A Sir J Bayley 182 224 4 8 4
Fri 14th Sep H Meole Brace 217 198 8 4 10
Fri 21st Sep A Bylet 181 240 5 7 5
Played 26 5209 5434 147 165 168

Team Averages:

Position Team
Player
Games Aggregate
Team Division Play Won Lost % Won For Against Agg Cons
Wins
1 5 Wayne Rogers 26 21 5 81 525 379 +146 8
2 14 Kiah Roberts 26 18 8 69 481 358 +123 9
3 20 Duncan Pressley 26 17 9 65 480 429 +51 3
4 93 Ben Allen 26 11 15 42 446 455 -9 2
5 94 Jolyon Partridge 22 11 11 50 385 395 -10 3
6 101 Adam Dovey 22 10 12 45 374 363 +11 2
7 113 Mark Rogers 21 10 11 48 341 374 -33 6
8 120 Russell Davies 18 9 9 50 322 314 +8 2
9 139 Ben James 20 8 12 40 308 376 -68 3
10 147 Kev Dovey 19 7 12 37 295 343 -48 2
11 152 Len Lewis 22 7 15 32 330 419 -89 3
12 163 Roy Crowther 23 6 17 26 315 448 -133 2
13 175 Chris Dovey 20 5 15 25 286 377 -91 3
14 182 Nick Lewis 9 4 5 44 148 163 -15 1
15 211 Liam Dovey 5 2 3 40 66 95 -29 2
16 232 Jesse James 6 1 5 17 99 125 -26 1
17 263 Kevin Richards 1 0 1 0 8 21 -13 0

Check Also

25 Years: Fact Number 8

Number 8 Bylet earned their highest ever finish this season in their 17 year stay …