Home / Reports / 2018 Reports / Team Review 2018: Bowring

Team Review 2018: Bowring

Team: Bowring

2018 Captain: Jamie King, then Rich Lawson

2018 Aim:Top 3/4 if we get on a good run then to stay in the race for as long as possible

2018 Position: 9th

2018 Points: 169

2o17 Position: 5th

2017 Points: 186

2018 Home Wins: 9

2018 Away Wins: 2

Best Result: 12-2 (+80) vs. Hanmer

Worst Result: 2-12 (-70) vs. Sir John Bayley

Alan Mayhew Trophy: 1st round (lost to Sir John Bayley by 16)

Pool B: Winners (beat Ifton by 13)

Leading Player: Jamie King 15 wins (+39)

Comments: 

Bowring suffered a very disappointing league season after doing so well last season. They had a poor start, despite beating rivals Sir John Bayley by 4 chalks in their first game. After a 10-4 win over Wem USC, they suffered four straight defeats as they went down the table. A narrow home win over Bylet got them going again, but they were still near the bottom of the table and changed captains too. It wasn’t until two successive 12-2 wins over Hanmer and Ifton meant they could forget any relegation troubles. A home loss against Castlefields was followed by winning at Wem USC, but inconsistencies showed again as they then got hammered at home by Wrockwardine Wood. They bounced back with good home wins over Burway and Chester Road, but a hammering at home to Newport meant that they looked like finishing near the bottom and their worst season in the league. But a win at Hanmer in their last game meant they finished in 9th. They did at least win a cup, winning the Pool B against Ifton by 13 shots, although did lose first round of the Alan Mayhew Trophy.

2018 Stats:

Results:

Date H/A Opponent For Against Won Lost Pts
Fri 6th Apr H Sir J Bayley 217 213 6 6 8
Fri 13th Apr A Castlefields 205 226 4 8 4
Fri 20th Apr H Wem U S C 239 192 8 4 10
Fri 27th Apr A Wrockwardine Wood 181 237 2 10 2
Fri 4th May A Burway 187 234 5 7 5
Fri 11th May H St Georges 221 222 5 7 5
Fri 18th May A Chester Road 199 205 5 7 5
Fri 25th May H Bylet 209 201 6 6 8
Fri 1st Jun A Meole Brace 191 223 5 7 5
Fri 8th Jun H Hanwood 230 209 7 5 9
Fri 15th Jun A Newport 170 239 2 10 2
Fri 22nd Jun H Hanmer 239 159 10 2 12
Wed 27th Jun H Ifton 237 177 10 2 12
Fri 29th Jun A Ifton 185 222 4 8 4
Fri 6th Jul A Sir J Bayley 168 238 2 10 2
Fri 13th Jul H Castlefields 199 206 6 6 6
Fri 20th Jul A Wem U S C 218 199 7 5 11
Fri 27th Jul H Wrockwardine Wood 177 222 4 8 4
Fri 3rd Aug H Burway 238 192 8 4 10
Fri 10th Aug A St Georges 190 226 3 9 3
Fri 17th Aug H Chester Road 234 198 9 3 11
Fri 24th Aug A Bylet 172 224 5 7 5
Fri 31st Aug H Meole Brace 216 191 7 5 9
Fri 7th Sep A Hanwood 154 229 3 9 3
Fri 14th Sep H Newport 205 237 3 9 3
Fri 21st Sep A Hanmer 218 215 7 5 11
Played 26 5299 5536 143 169 169

Team Averages:

Position Team
Player
Games Aggregate
Team Division Play Won Lost % Won For Against Agg Cons
Wins
1 45 Jamie King 26 15 11 58 460 421 +39 8
2 59 Richard Lawson 23 13 10 57 425 352 +73 5
3 63 Roy Bradburn 19 13 6 68 354 323 +31 5
4 64 Josh Bradburn 23 13 10 57 409 378 +31 6
5 69 Ashley Gregory 24 13 11 54 404 415 -11 3
6 79 David Lloyd 26 12 14 46 442 440 +2 3
7 80 Ayden Smith 24 12 12 50 427 428 -1 3
8 104 Reece Farr 26 10 16 38 450 464 -14 2
9 150 Philip Jones Jnr 16 7 9 44 249 311 -62 2
10 151 Martin Gaut 25 7 18 28 415 492 -77 1
11 157 Adam Patrick 10 6 4 60 185 167 +18 2
12 158 Jamie Fletcher 11 6 5 55 208 205 +3 4
13 165 Jack Whitehead 12 5 7 42 212 215 -3 2
14 200 Brian Jarvis 12 3 9 25 173 245 -72 1
15 201 Aaron King 14 3 11 21 183 277 -94 1
16 213 Jack Hill 8 2 6 25 113 155 -42 1
17 224 Robert Roden 4 1 3 25 60 68 -8 1
18 225 Ben Mellor 3 1 2 33 52 62 -10 1
19 228 Alan Jones 4 1 3 25 62 76 -14 1
20 282 Sean Round 2 0 2 0 16 42 -26 0

Check Also

25 Years: Fact Number 8

Number 8 Bylet earned their highest ever finish this season in their 17 year stay …