Home / Reports / 2018 Reports / Team Review 2018: Wrockwardine Wood

Team Review 2018: Wrockwardine Wood

Team: Wrockwardine Wood

2018 Captain: Stuart Clee

2018 Aim: Perform to the best of our ability each week, get behind each other and see where it takes us.

2018 Position: 6th

2018 Points: 201

2o17 Position: 8th

2017 Points: 178

2018 Home Wins: 11

2018 Away Wins: 3

Best Result: 12-2 (+56) vs. Bowring

Worst Result: 2-12 (-30) vs. Ifton

Alan Mayhew Trophy: Quarter Finals (lost to Castlefields by 70)

Pool A: Semi Finals (lost to Castlefields by 16)

Leading Player: Martin Williams 18 wins (+124)

Comments: 

Wrockwardine Wood had a great season as they finished in the top 6 for the first time since 2011. They had a great start to the season, winning away at Wem USC and then hammering Bowring at home. They then drew up at St Georges with 7 winners, before beating Chester Road well and then earning another away win at Meole Brace. They then had a shock home draw versus Hanwood which slowed their momentum down, followed a few matches later by their worst result of the season at Ifton where they got just 2 winners, but were unlucky as they lost by only 30. They beat Hanmer well at home though at the halfway point, but only got two 8-6 wins from their next two home games. A stunning 12-4 win at Bowring got them going again, before an 11-3 win over arch rivals St Georges put them in a great position of a top four finish. However they couldn’t keep that form up, only winning 2 of their last 7, as they slipped down to 6th despite a great 6 at Newport and an 11-3 home win over Ifton in those run of games. They lost to Castlefields in both of the cup competitions.

2018 Stats:

Results:

Date H/A Opponent For Against Won Lost Pts
Fri 6th Apr H Bylet 227 190 8 4 10
Fri 13th Apr A Wem U S C 208 205 6 6 10
Fri 20th Apr A Burway 206 228 5 7 5
Fri 27th Apr H Bowring 237 181 10 2 12
Fri 4th May A St Georges 202 202 7 5 9
Fri 11th May H Chester Road 238 198 9 3 11
Fri 18th May A Meole Brace 225 216 6 6 10
Fri 25th May H Hanwood 214 214 5 7 6
Fri 1st Jun A Sir J Bayley 188 206 5 7 5
Fri 8th Jun H Newport 225 196 6 6 8
Fri 15th Jun A Ifton 191 221 2 10 2
Fri 22nd Jun H Castlefields 220 205 7 5 9
Wed 27th Jun H Hanmer 240 158 10 2 12
Fri 29th Jun A Hanmer 179 230 4 8 4
Fri 6th Jul A Bylet 207 220 5 7 5
Fri 13th Jul H Wem U S C 209 189 6 6 8
Fri 20th Jul H Burway 216 203 6 6 8
Fri 27th Jul A Bowring 222 177 8 4 12
Fri 3rd Aug H St Georges 227 192 9 3 11
Fri 10th Aug A Chester Road 173 236 4 8 4
Fri 17th Aug H Meole Brace 231 196 7 5 9
Fri 24th Aug A Hanwood 168 228 3 9 3
Fri 31st Aug H Sir J Bayley 206 207 6 6 6
Fri 7th Sep A Newport 184 216 6 6 6
Fri 14th Sep H Ifton 244 193 9 3 11
Fri 21st Sep A Castlefields 186 221 5 7 5
Played 26 5473 5328 164 148 201

Team Averages:

Position Team
Player
Games Aggregate
Team Division Play Won Lost % Won For Against Agg Cons
Wins
1 13 Martin Williams 26 18 8 69 498 374 +124 12
2 24 Stuart Rutter 25 16 9 64 471 391 +80 5
3 30 Steve Roberts 22 16 6 73 402 346 +56 10
4 32 Andrew Jones 26 16 10 62 478 438 +40 5
5 33 Stuart Clee 26 16 10 62 450 411 +39 8
6 60 Liam Stevens 21 13 8 62 403 348 +55 3
7 66 Mark Picknell 22 13 9 59 405 385 +20 6
8 75 Dan Taylor 21 12 9 57 374 363 +11 4
9 85 Dale Downes 22 11 11 50 386 372 +14 3
10 89 Dan Bodley 23 11 12 48 416 410 +6 3
11 141 Robert Jones 26 8 18 31 392 497 -105 2
12 162 Steve Bodley 21 6 15 29 317 407 -90 2
13 192 Josh Cotton 5 3 2 60 78 82 -4 1
14 207 Ian Thomas 5 2 3 40 75 92 -17 1
15 212 Mark Clayton 12 2 10 17 196 232 -36 1
16 237 Ian Whitehouse 9 1 8 11 132 180 -48 1

Check Also

25 Years: Fact Number 8

Number 8 Bylet earned their highest ever finish this season in their 17 year stay …