Home / Reports / 2018 Reports / Team Review 2018: St Georges

Team Review 2018: St Georges

Team: St Georges

2018 Captain: Ian Gaut / Lewis Scott / Dave King / Nigel Evans joint captains

2018 Aim: Improve on last year and to make our home green a fortress again

2018 Position: 4th

2018 Points: 210

2o17 Position: 4th

2017 Points: 188

2018 Home Wins: 11

2018 Away Wins: 5

Best Result: 13-3 (+32) vs. Ifton (A)

Worst Result: 2-12 (-74) vs. Hanwood

Alan Mayhew Trophy: 1st round (lost to Castlefields by 39)

Pool A: Semi Finals (lost to Wem USC by 5)

Leading Player: Clay Flattley 20 wins (+138)

Comments: 

St Georges had a slow start to the season but motivation to finish about their closest rivals meant a great finish to the season and 4th place. Their home form was poor though, losing at home to Castlefields and drawing with Wrockwardine Wood in their first three home games, along with some small home wins. Their away form was good though winning 5 matches overall, including wins at Hamer and Bowring early in the season. After getting just 2 winners at Hanwood and Sir John Bayley, sandwiching two poor home results, they found themselves down in 6th. But an away win at Wem USC got them going again along with their best home win over Hanmer. They then got three at Wrockwardine Wood, and bounced back extremely well from this to win their last 6 out of 7, including away wins at Meole Brace and a 13-3 success at Ifton on the last day, to launch them up to 4th. They lost to Castlefields in the 1st round of the Alan Mayhew Trophy and in the Semi Finals to Wem USC in the Pool A.

2018 Stats:

Results:

Date H/A Opponent For Against Won Lost Pts
Fri 6th Apr H Wem U S C 206 195 7 5 9
Fri 13th Apr A Newport 202 223 5 7 5
Fri 20th Apr H Castlefields 194 218 5 7 5
Fri 27th Apr A Hanmer 214 205 6 6 10
Fri 4th May H Wrockwardine Wood 202 202 5 7 6
Fri 11th May A Bowring 222 221 7 5 11
Fri 18th May A Burway 163 200 6 6 6
Fri 25th May H Meole Brace 232 195 8 4 10
Fri 1st Jun A Chester Road 202 217 6 6 6
Fri 8th Jun H Bylet 216 199 7 5 9
Fri 15th Jun A Hanwood 175 242 2 10 2
Fri 22nd Jun H Ifton 221 196 6 6 8
Wed 27th Jun H Sir J Bayley 232 205 7 5 9
Fri 29th Jun A Sir J Bayley 173 247 2 10 2
Fri 6th Jul A Wem U S C 201 188 7 5 11
Fri 13th Jul H Newport 219 190 8 4 10
Fri 20th Jul A Castlefields 173 217 4 8 4
Fri 27th Jul H Hanmer 241 179 10 2 12
Fri 3rd Aug A Wrockwardine Wood 192 227 3 9 3
Fri 10th Aug H Bowring 226 190 9 3 11
Fri 17th Aug H Burway 236 184 8 4 10
Fri 24th Aug A Meole Brace 220 198 7 5 11
Fri 31st Aug H Chester Road 241 154 9 3 11
Fri 7th Sep A Bylet 190 216 4 8 4
Fri 14th Sep H Hanwood 239 163 10 2 12
Fri 21st Sep A Ifton 239 207 9 3 13
Played 26 5471 5278 167 145 210

Team Averages:

H

Position Team
Player
Games Aggregate
Team Division Play Won Lost % Won For Against Agg Cons
Wins
1 7 Clay Flattley 26 20 6 77 522 384 +138 7
2 21 Lewis Scott 24 16 8 67 462 347 +115 5
3 34 Andy Morgan 23 16 7 70 413 383 +30 4
4 36 Tony Rhodes 22 15 7 68 436 344 +92 8
5 46 John Cooke 24 15 9 63 432 395 +37 5
6 54 Ian Gaut 25 14 11 56 455 417 +38 5
7 55 Dave King 26 14 12 54 439 416 +23 3
8 77 Nigel Evans 25 12 13 48 442 439 +3 3
9 78 Peter Grimston 26 12 14 46 469 467 +2 2
10 92 Barry Gilder 22 11 11 50 378 375 +3 6
11 115 Nick Wyer 23 10 13 43 372 434 -62 3
12 172 Jason Wilson 15 5 10 33 227 284 -57 2
13 191 Simon Madeley 6 3 3 50 100 99 +1 2
14 209 Carl Hazlehurst 5 2 3 40 67 90 -23 1
15 217 Glyn Picknell 1 1 0 100 21 10 +11 1
16 240 Steve Pessall 7 1 6 14 83 142 -59 1
17 247 Michael Wainwright 1 0 1 0 17 21 -4 0
18 249 Johnny Peate 1 0 1 0 16 21 -5 0
19 277 Jim Kellett 2 0 2 0 19 42 -23 0
20 281 Jim Gaut 2 0 2 0 16 42 -26 0
21 285 Ryan Mills 6 0 6 0 85 126 -41 0

Check Also

25 Years: Fact Number 8

Number 8 Bylet earned their highest ever finish this season in their 17 year stay …