Home / Reports / 2018 Reports / Team Review 2018: Castlefields

Team Review 2018: Castlefields

Team: Castlefields

2018 Captain: Alan Peach

2018 Aim: Try and retain the title

2018 Position: 1st

2018 Points: 243

2o17 Position: 1st

2017 Points: 225

2018 Home Wins: 13

2018 Away Wins: 7

Best Result: 13-1 (+106) vs. Hanwood

Worst Result: 4-10 (-29) vs. Newport

Alan Mayhew Trophy: Winners (beat Meole Brace by 47)

Pool A: Winners (beat Wem USC by 29)

Leading Player: Callum Wraight 22 wins (+188)

Comments: 

Castlefields retained their title but at the halfway point it looked like they wouldn’t be doing that as they embarked on an incredible 13 match winning run, the first team ever to go the second half of a season unbeaten. They started off with a good 5 winners at Hanwood, and then won at St Georges 11-5. They then lost at Meole Brace by 3 chalks in an incredible match, but then did win at Bylet by one shot to keep up there. They had three away games on the trot in June, which they all lost at Hanmer, Wrockwardine Wood and Wem USC, which meant they were outside the top four at the halfway point. But, helped by the fact they had 8 out of 13 at home in the last half of the season, they went on an incredible run. They won three away games by single figures, and enjoyed a great win at title rivals Sir John Bayley as they scored 9 double figure hauls on the bounce. They then overcame their final hurdle at home to Newport with a 9-5 win, before a 12-4 win at Ifton and a 13-1 success over Hanmer sealed their 10th title overall. They also added the two cup competitions in the Alan Mayhew Trophy and Pool A, beating Meole Brace by 47 and Wem USC by 29 in the two finals respectively, meaning they’ve won 20 consecutive games in all competitions, a league record.

2018 Stats:

Results:

Date H/A Opponent For Against Won Lost Pts
Fri 6th Apr A Hanwood 201 209 5 7 5
Fri 13th Apr H Bowring 226 205 8 4 10
Fri 20th Apr A St Georges 218 194 7 5 11
Fri 27th Apr H Chester Road 227 165 9 3 11
Fri 4th May A Meole Brace 197 200 4 8 4
Fri 11th May H Burway 228 159 9 3 11
Fri 18th May A Bylet 212 211 6 6 10
Fri 25th May H Sir J Bayley 235 190 9 3 11
Fri 1st Jun A Newport 207 236 4 8 4
Fri 8th Jun H Ifton 202 197 6 6 8
Fri 15th Jun A Hanmer 188 206 4 8 4
Fri 22nd Jun A Wrockwardine Wood 205 220 5 7 5
Wed 27th Jun A Wem U S C 186 228 5 7 5
Fri 29th Jun H Wem U S C 218 175 9 3 11
Fri 6th Jul H Hanwood 250 144 11 1 13
Fri 13th Jul A Bowring 206 199 6 6 10
Fri 20th Jul H St Georges 217 173 8 4 10
Fri 27th Jul A Chester Road 227 218 7 5 11
Fri 3rd Aug H Meole Brace 248 187 10 2 12
Fri 10th Aug A Burway 209 200 6 6 10
Fri 17th Aug H Bylet 237 140 10 2 12
Fri 24th Aug A Sir J Bayley 224 200 8 4 12
Fri 31st Aug H Newport 205 190 7 5 9
Fri 7th Sep A Ifton 233 200 8 4 12
Fri 14th Sep H Hanmer 249 161 11 1 13
Fri 21st Sep H Wrockwardine Wood 221 186 7 5 9
Played 26 5676 4993 189 123 243

Team Averages:

Position Team
Player
Games Aggregate
Team Division Play Won Lost % Won For Against Agg Cons
Wins
1 2 Callum Wraight 24 22 2 92 491 303 +188 8
2 3 Michael Beer 25 22 3 88 510 336 +174 9
3 17 Andy Duckett 23 17 6 74 434 359 +75 6
4 27 Keith Wall 25 16 9 64 456 384 +72 4
5 37 Rich Goddard 23 15 8 65 448 363 +85 7
6 48 Adrian Rowe 25 15 10 60 433 407 +26 7
7 52 Paul Williams 26 14 12 54 480 427 +53 4
8 53 Mark Taylor 24 14 10 58 436 390 +46 4
9 68 Keith Walton 26 13 13 50 441 447 -6 3
10 76 Adam Jones 24 12 12 50 404 395 +9 3
11 108 Glyn Herbert 21 10 11 48 349 371 -22 2
12 118 Jon Palmer 17 9 8 53 323 284 +39 2
13 177 Andrew Judson 6 4 2 67 118 77 +41 2
14 216 Mark Walker 1 1 0 100 21 10 +11 1
15 220 Tom Palmer 2 1 1 50 39 35 +4 1
16 222 Steve Freer 1 1 0 100 21 20 +1 1
17 223 Barry Keep 2 1 1 50 36 38 -2 1
18 231 Alan Peach 4 1 3 25 55 80 -25 1
19 233 Graham Rogers 4 1 3 25 52 78 -26 1
20 246 Simon Bloomfield 1 0 1 0 17 21 -4 0
21 250 Kevin Walker 1 0 1 0 15 21 -6 0
22 251 Graham Wall 1 0 1 0 15 21 -6 0
23 252 Luke Jones 1 0 1 0 15 21 -6 0
24 258 Russ Pugh 1 0 1 0 13 21 -8 0
25 266 Keith Knight 3 0 3 0 48 63 -15 0
26 268 Martin Codd 1 0 1 0 6 21 -15 0

Check Also

25 Years: Fact Number 8

Number 8 Bylet earned their highest ever finish this season in their 17 year stay …