Home / Pool A/B 2018

Pool A/B 2018

Pool A

1st round

There were shocks aplenty in the 1st round of the Seaton Sports Pool A as the league table was turned upside down. Wem USC defeated Hanwood by 6 on Ifton, with captain Scott Thomas leading by example winning 10. Wayne Phillips’ 9 best win for Hanwood was not enough. Wrockwardine Wood stunned 2nd placed Newport as they hammered them by 45 on Sir John Bayley, only having one loser, with Tom Langford winning 15 for Newport, as Stuart Rutter led the way at number one winning 8. St Georges beat Sir John Bayley by 2 chalks on Newport in the closest game of the night. John Cooke’s 10 win was key for them, as Kane Beaman’s best win of 11 was not enough for the County Cup winners.

Quarter Final Round Held on Wed Oct 3rd 2018
1 Castlefields 168 0 Bye At N/A
2 Wrockwardine Wood 162 117 Newport At S J Bayley Bottom
3 Wem U S C 149 143 Hanwood At Ifton
4 St Georges 145 143 Sir J Bayley At Newport No 1

Semi Finals

The leaders Castlefields are still on for the treble as they got past Wrockwardine Wood by 16 on Prince Hotel. Mike Beer was their best winner 13 while Mark Picknell was the only winner for the Wrockites 9. Wem USC will join them as they caused another shock as they beat St Georges and became the first ever 7th place team to make the Pool A final. On Meole Brace they had 5 winners with Colin Smith the best of them 12 as they won by 5, Clay Flattley the best for the Dragons 13.

Match results for Semi Final Round of the Pool A played on Wed 10th Oct

Castlefields completed the treble tonight as they won the Seaton Sports Pool A trophy for a record 6th time. It wasn’t all plain sailing, as Mike Dulson won at number one for Wem USC 9, and came back well in the other games to have a lead of three chalks going into the back four. But the Fields were dominant in the back, leading all the games and led by Adam Jones’ 12 win at number eight they won by 29 overall.

Castlefields Agg Score Score Agg Wem U S C
Keith Walton 9 9 21 21 Mike Dulson
Michael Beer 30 21 19 40 Chris Brettell
Adrian Rowe 51 21 17 57 Neil Boxall
Andy Duckett 72 21 18 75 Derek Wright
Rich Goddard 93 21 13 88 Scott Thomas
Callum Wraight 114 21 13 101 Craig Ashley
Paul Williams 135 21 14 115 Connor Whitehall
Adam Jones 156 21 12 127 Colin Smith
Games 7 1 Games
Aggregate 156 127 Aggregate

Pool B

1st round

Bylet look to finish the season on a high after a great season as they beat Meole Brace by 32 on Burway in the Seaton Sports Pool B 1st round. Captain Scott Harries said “once again my boys delivered a great performance. No matter what team I have available to me, all the boys perform their best for me. On a carpet at Burway and credit to them for getting the green that way we led from start to finish. Unlucky to Meole Brace, there were some great games and bowling but it was our night.” Best winner was Chris Chamberlain 11, while for Meole it was Tim Jordan 16. Ifton beat Chester Road by 18 on Hanmer as the record holders look to add another win in this competition. Captain Dickie Jones was “pleased to have got through and keep our good record in the competition going” as he was best winner 8 for them, with Martin Lloyd’s 10 win replying for the opposition. Burway hammered Hanmer by 47 on the Bowring with 7 winners, Len Lewis the best of them 5. Hanmer’s only winner was Mike Gilpin 6.

Quarter Final Round Held on Wed Oct 3rd 2018
1 Bowring 168 0 Bye At N/A
2 Bylet 162 130 Meole Brace At Burway No. 1
3 Ifton 152 134 Chester Road At Hanmer
4 Burway 153 106 Hanmer At Bowring No 1

Semi Finals

Bowring beat Bylet by 7 on Meole Brace to make their first final since 2016. Captain Rich Lawson led the way winning 6, with Rob Fuller best for the Bylet 10. They will play record holders Ifton as they got past Burway by 15. Jamie Waugh was their best winner 9 as joint captain Russ Davies’ best win of 13 was not enough for the Ludlow side.

Match results for Semi Final Round of the Pool B played on Wed 10th Oct

Bowring Score Score Bylet
Ayden Smith 16 21 Simon Rhodes
Philip Jones Jnr 10 21 Rob Fuller
Roy Bradburn 20 21 Rob Steventon
David Lloyd 16 21 Scott Harries
Richard Lawson 21 6 Richard Morris
Josh Bradburn 21 12 Rob Perry
Jamie King 21 17 Jamie Taylor
Alan Jones 21 20 Dan Davies
Games 4 4 Games
Aggregate 146 139 Aggregate


Ifton Score Score Burway
Darren Lacey 17 21 Kiah Roberts
Adrian Humphries 18 21 Wayne Rogers
Dave Dicky Jones 21 16 Len Lewis
Nicky Jones 21 11 Liam Dovey
Nathan Lacey 13 21 Russell Davies
Ian Jones 21 20 Duncan Pressley
Ian Metcalfe 21 19 Mark Rogers
Jamie Waugh 21 9 Jolyon Partridge
Games 5 3 Games
Aggregate 153 138 Aggregate


Bowring were another team to come from behind to claim their second Seaton Sports Pool B success as they defeated Ifton by 13 overall. Dave Bond got Ifton off to a great start winning 3, with Ash Gregory responding with a 13 win to keep the deficit down to 8. Jamie King then came off winning 6 to put Bowring into the lead, and once Roy Bradburn came off winning 14, and Dave Lloyd had come back from 14-7 down to win 20, they had won.

Bowring Agg Score Score Agg Ifton
Josh Bradburn 16 16 21 21 Kevin Nicholas
Ashley Gregory 37 21 13 34 Nicky Jones
Richard Lawson 58 21 14 48 Dave Dicky Jones
Philip Jones Jnr 61 3 21 69 Dave Bond
Ayden Smith 80 19 21 90 Nathan Lacey
Jamie King 101 21 6 96 Martin Jones
Roy Bradburn 122 21 14 110 Joey Williams
David Lloyd 143 21 20 130 Ian Metcalfe
Games 5 3 Games
Aggregate 143 130 Aggregate