Home / How we started

How we started

The Shropshire Premier League was created back in 1994 and here’s how it was created told by ex-League President Mike Hinton:

“I was at John Maddocks in Oakengates in October 1993. Lots of discussion took place and I shall always remember Keith Pessall shouting out loud “Come on lads let’s go for it.” That’s how the Premier League was formed. John Coxill as President, Neville Edwards as chairman, Ian Gaut as secretary/fixtures and Phil Talbot as treasurer. Our sponsors were Priorslee Motor Spares. We had the usual  sceptics around the County saying it can’t happen, we don’t believe it will happen, but they were wrong. I remember well Alan Mayhew telling me that he had a dream of a County league being formed in the late 1980’s, and wasn’t he just right.

Andy Stevens and Peter Roden from Donnington Wood worked hard at their club and managed to get the club to donate the wonderful League trophy that we play for to-day. Many thanks to John Coxill for the individual merit and Neville Edwards for the League averages. We had 12 teams in the league- all invited. Castlefields turned down their invitation and Archibald Worthington were invited to replace Castlefields.

The very next season Castlefields wanted to join the League. It created some problems as we would have had 13 teams in the League. Bit awkward to say the least. I was called upon to act as an arbitrator between Castlefields and the League management committee. After 2.5hours of discussion Castlefields were elected to the League and went on to win the Premier league in 1995,’96,’97,98. Wow!”