Home / Past Seasons / 21st Anniversary Celebrations

21st Anniversary Celebrations

Sunday 17th August 2015

To celebrate the 21st Anniversary of the Shropshire Premier League a 4 a side competition was held at Donnington Wood. All 14 Premier League teams were invited, as well as Hanwood and Hanmer, however five teams did not turn up which disappointed the teams present and the league officials and dampened the celebrations.

On the green the final couldn’t have been closer. Chester Road drew with Wrockwardine Wood 74-74 and it was left to Mark Holland to beat Dale Downes 11-8 in the play off decider which meant Chester Road took the £250 first prize which was donated anonymous last year.

Final Scores


Dale Downes  21Martin Lloyd 19

Steve Broome  15 Mark Holland 21

Martin Gaut  17 Paul Humphreys 21

Martin Williams 21 Paul Latham 13

Wrock Wood 74 Chester Road 74

Playoff decider:

Dale Downes 8 Mark Holland 11


In the Semi finals Wrockwardine Wood beat St. George’s by 7 and Chester road narrowly beat Hanwood by 2.


It was fitting that the League Officials who set up the League in 1994 were all present today and they were pictured with the two final captains before the start of the final.

Pictured from left, Martin Gaut (Wrockwardine Wood captain), Phil Talbot (League treasurer 1994), Neville Edwards (League Chairman),

Ian Gaut (League Secretary), John Coxill (League President), Paul Latham (Chester Road captain).

During the finals day, there was a special presentation to Keith Walton who was the first person to play 500 matches in  the Shropshire Premier Bowling League. Keith reached the milestone when he played Sir John Bayley on the 25th April this year.


Pictured above, Mark Burroughs (Secretary & Treasurer), Glyn Herbert (Castlefields), Keith Walton (500 up), Mike Hinton (League President), John Coxill (League Secretary).