Home / 2004 Presentation Evening

2004 Presentation Evening

The SPBL presentation evening was held at Bridgewater Bowling Club last Friday (8th October) following the conclusion of the finals of Pool A & B Premiership Trophy.

The League Secretary, Mark Burroughs, welcomed current County President Tony Roche and former County Presidents  Neville Edwards and Mike Hinton, and players and supporters to Bridgewater Bowling Club. John Nash concluded the evening by thanking Furrows Limited for their generous sponsorship, Malcolm Fletcher for his excellent coverage of not only Premier League Bowls, but Shropshire Bowls all over the county and Bridgewater Bowling Club and its members for the use of its facilities.


The first players award to be presented was the inaugural Premier League Mike Hinton “Pairs” winners. In May, John Coxill and Pete Griffiths (Craven Arms) beat Paul Williams and Kevin Price (Castlefields) in the final at Meole Brace.  Mike Hinton presented them with engraved tankards  and The Mike Hinton Trophy. (Pictured below)


The first individual players award to be presented was the Premier League Merit winner. In August Martin Lloyd (Chester Road) beat Mick Jones (St Georges) in the final at Bylet.  The donor himself presented him with an  engraved tankard  and The John Coxill Trophy.


The next individual award was Rich Goddard (Castlefields),  who won 14 consecutive games in the season, as presented by Premier League secretary and treasurer Mark Burroughs.


The last Individual award went to Andrew Moss who won 21 league games this season and picked up the League Averages Trophy from the Donor himself Neville Edwards.


The first team award to be decided this season was the Alan Mayhew trophy and Mick Jones, the St Georges Captain, stepped forward to receive the trophy from League Secretary, Mark Burroughs (Pictured below)


The awards were then made to tonight’s Pool A & B winners with Dave Rogers (pictured below left) representing Chester Road and Kevin Jones (pictured below right) from Ford collecting the respective shields from Premier League secretary Mark Burroughs.

CRoadPoolAweb                                   FordPoolBweb

The next presentations involved the representatives of the member clubs collecting their prize money for the season.

Castlefields finished third, and Rich Goddard collected the cheque for £600. (Pictured Below)


Next up was Mick Jones representing St Georges, who finished runners up and received a cheque for £700.  (Pictured Below)




And finally, Dave Rogers representing Champions elect Chester Road, received the League Trophy from County President Tony Roche.


Pictured below are members of the Chester Road team with the League trophy and Pool A shield


From Left, Andrew Moss, Rod Manley, Paul Latham, Dave Rogers (captain), Paul Williams, Ian Booth, Alan Purcell, Paul Griffiths, Paul Smith, Charlie Weaver, Martin Lloyd, Andrew Duckett.