Home / 2011 Alan Mayhew Trophy

2011 Alan Mayhew Trophy

Preliminary Round Results

SJ Bayley beat Childs Ercall by 53
St Georges beat Arch W’ton by 49
Meole Brace beat Bylet by 108
Newport beat Wem USC by 65
Chester Road given a walkover by Ford
Wrock Wood beat Bowring by 21

Quarter Final Results

St Georges beat SJ Bayley by 28
Newport beat Meole Brace by 23
Chester Road beat Wrock Wood by 43
Castlefields walk over

Semi Final Results

Newport beat St Georges by 41
Chester Road drew with Castlefields. Chester Road go through to the final with seven winners to Castlefields five.

Chester Road win the trophy for the 1st time …………… beating Newport by 5…

The score may have been close but that did not tell the whole story as previous five times finalists Chester Road beat Newport by five chalks at Ford tonight. In fact Chester Road were 48 up after six blocks with single figure wins for Charlie Weaver, Derek Wright and Andy Duckett and a 21-10 win for Martin Lloyd giving them an impressive start.

The game of the night was a 21-20 success for Alan Davidson over Mark Holland and Peter Farmer was Newport’s only other winner in the first four. Whilst many thought the game was over, single figure wins for Dan Hand, Dave Rhodes and Martyn France breathed new life into the “Fishes” and with last man on Mick Jones 6-5 up, it was left to his opponent Paul Williams to get to 14 as Chester Road only led by 8 with the last block on. In a nip and tuck battle, Paul took the lead at 14-12 which was enough for the “Roaders” to toast victory and end their losing final streak.


Alan Mayhew selected the Man of the Match award and that went to Derek Wright with his impressive 21-8 win over Russell Pegram.

Victorious Chester Road Back (From Left) Dave Rogers (captain), Derek Wright, Rod Manley, Adrian Smout, Gerwyn Davies, Mark Holland, Paul Latham, Martin Lloyd.
Front: Andy Duckett, Andrew foster, Paul Williams, Alan Mayhew (Trophy donor), Charlie weaver, Andy Moss.

Gallant Runners Up , Newport Back Peter Farmer, Dave Rhodes, Dan Hand, Mick Jones, Kevin Keary, Russell Pegram, Martyn France.
Front: Phil Emery, Alan Davidson, Ian Whittington, Alan Mayhew (Trophy donor), Chris Grocott, Dale Rudrum (captain).