Home / 2001 Alan Mayhew Trophy

2001 Alan Mayhew Trophy

Donnington Wood collected their first Premier League Team Trophy when they won the Alan Mayhew Trophy in their first final appearance.  The might of Castlefields first four, all current county players were put to the sword by Donnington’s magnificent 4 and the current holders found themselves 32 down and with the next two cards also losers to put them 46 adrift there was no way back and although they had the last six winners, the final aggregate was 23 and Jim Fletcher came forward to collect the trophy from current Premier League county president Mike Hinton.  The Man of the Match award selected by Mike Hinton was awarded to Andy Stevens for his 21-6 win over county star Wayne Phillips.


Jim Fletcher (left) collects the trophy from Mike Hinton (right) with League Chairman Dave Astbury centre.

The scores from the match are given below:


1 Paul Williams 13 21 John Breeze
2 Wayne Phillips 6 21 Andy Stevens
3 Glyn Herbert 20 21 James Grimston
4 Rich Goddard 13 21 Simon Gerrard
5 Graham Rogers 18 21 Mark Worthington
6 Keith Walton 10 21 Peter Roden
7 Alan Peach 21 19 Jim Fletcher
8 George Wainwright 21 15 Peter Grimston
9 Lee Clarke 21 15 Roy Bradburn
10 Andrew Duckett 21 15 Chris Worthington
11 Barry Keep 21 20 Chris Jones
12 Kevin Jones 21 19 Rich Lawson


206 229



Pictured below are the winning team together with Alan Boycott and Dave Astbury.


Back from left: Mark Worthington, Simon Gerrard, Peter Grimston, Andy Stevens, Chris Worthington, Rich Lawson & Alan Boycott.

Front from left: Chris Jones, James Grimston, Dave Astbury (President), Jim Fletcher (Captain), Pete Roden, Roy Bradburn & John Breeze