Home / 2002 Presentation Evening

2002 Presentation Evening

The SPBL presentation evening was held at Telepost Bowling Club last Friday (11th October) following the conclusion of the finals of Pool A & B Premiership Trophy.

The President, Mike Hinton, welcomed the guest of honour Dave Card, Shropshire County President representing the Shropshire County Bowling Association.


The first  award to be presented was the individual Premier League Merit winner. In July Peter Farmer (Childs Ercall) beat Spencer Clarke (Sir John Bayley) in the final at Donnington Wood sponsored by PRC.  Frances Astbury presented him with an  engraved tankard and The John Coxill Trophy. (Pictured below)


 The next award went to Martin Williams who won 20 league games this season and picked up the League Averages Trophy, and for the first time seven players had 20 wins but Martin had the best aggregate of  + 178.


 The last individual award was made to Peter Farmer once again,  who won 11 consecutive games in the season.


The first team award to be decided this season was the Alan Mayhew trophy and Ray Willetts. the Sir John Bayley representative, stepped forward to receive the trophy from Frances.



The awards were then made to tonights Pool A & B winners and Mick Jones (pictured below left) representing St Georges and Tony Cowdale (pictured below right) from Craven Arms collected the respective shields.

The next presentations involved the representatives of the member clubs collecting their prize money for the season presented by  the Premier Leagues Chairman’s Wife, Frances.

Peter Jones, representing Chester Road, finished 3rd.  (Pictured Below)


 Next up were Meole Brace who finished as runners up for the first time and Mark Thomas collected the cheque  for £600.)


And finally, Tony Rhodes the captains nomination of Champions elect St Georges  received the League Trophy from County President Dave Card.